About Museum Het Rembrandthuis:
Rembrandt House, locally known as Rembrandthuis, is located right behind Amsterdam's Red Light District - not too far from the Chinese quarter. It was owned by famous Dutch painter Rembrandt van Rijn from 1639 to 1658.
Constructed in 1606, the house displays this date in gold by its main entrance. It's a relatively wide structure, built across two adjoining lots in what was once the newest and most fashionable part of Amsterdam (the eastern side). The second lot was added in the 1990s as an extension to the museum. Many successful financiers and merchants of the day also bought residences in this side of town.
That said, a modern annex was recently added to Rembrandthuis. Together, they form a museum showcasing one of the world's largest collections of art by the Baroque master. It's a compact, beautifully restored exhibition space conveying the lesser known aspects of Rembrandt’s artistic legacy.
Enter the studios where he worked on commissions for Europe's rich and famous, see the room where his children were born, and step into the newly added office and print room. The print room contains one of the largest collections of Rembrandt’s etchings in the world. Each day from 10:15 to 13:15 (then from 13:45 to 16:45) you can view an etching demonstration detailing the techniques used and how the finished product was printed.
As well as the original artworks themselves, Rembrandthuis offers visitors unique insights into the life and works of Rembrandt's contemporaries.
- All Year Round, Daily | Except Apr 27 and Dec 25.
- Multi-lingual audio guide: English, Dutch, German, French, Italian, Spanish and Russian.
- A special children's audio programme is also available in Dutch and English.
schedule Opening Hours:
- 10:00 to 18:00.
- On December 24th and 31st the museum closes at 17:00.
- On January 1st it opens at 11:00.
- Jodenbreestraat 4, 1011 NK Amsterdam.
- Average visits to Rembrandthuis last approximately 1-1.5 hours.
Impaired Mobility | Due to its age and preservation status, the old house is unfortunately inaccessible to wheelchairs. However, the exhibition galleries are fully accessible. Pushchairs and buggies are not permitted anywhere in the house-museum.
Storage | Visitors are required to store bags larger than an A4 sheet of paper in the cloakroom near the entrance. Small safes are also available free of charge.
directions_bus Getting There:
- 15 minute walk south from Amsterdam Central Station.
- Tram lines 9 and 14 (Waterlooplein stop).